RSS

INTERVIEW: Joachim Adukor talks Gefle, life in Sweden

06 Jan

I caught up with Sweden-based Gelfe IF midfielder, Joachim Adukor, when he visited Ghana on holidays and had a chat with him about his time so far in the Scandinavian region.

 

Rarely will you find a player moving from a lower tier side in Ghana to a top flight team in Europe. The fortunes shone on 20-year old Adukor quite early in his career.

“I started in Ghana, played through the colts and went on to the second division in Ghana with Emirates Sporting Club after which I left to Sweden and started my professional career.

“When I went to Gefle, I was quite young so I was given a Youth Development contract, as a loan deal for six months. After that, they were impressed and I was given a four-year contract. I have since played two-and-a-half years with the club.”

One would expect that having been graced with such an opportunity so early in life, Adukor would be sailing on the waves of frequent play and nurturing his God-given talent. Sadly, this cannot be said as yet. Though no fault of his. He explains what has now become a bad dream. “Football has been ‘ok’ in Sweden. It’s football. You’re not always going to have it your way. It hasn’t been easy.

“I’ve not been playing and it’s been like a nightmare for me. But I think it’s part of life. I have understood that this is what is happening to me. Definitely there will some good opportunity for me and I will start playing. It hasn’t been so good but I thank God for everything.”

Adukor joined the team under coach Per Olsson, a former player of the club and had spent many years coaching the same outfit. Olsson now coaches the Djurgårdens IF team. Adukor consoles himself through the hard times and reckons that Olsson had a preference for much older players than him, with reason.

“I’m a Ghanaian. I’ve been through rough times. So even though there are challenges, I have already been toughened up. I’ve had people encouraging and talking to me to continue to be focused. My brother, my family and friends always encourage me.

“My club is a small club. In their attempt to avoid relegation, they almost always use the experienced players. The much older ones. So that does not create an environment for the young to show what we have.

“When things like these happen to you, the first thing you think is ‘Go somewhere else!’. You wouldn’t want to sit down and watch people who you know you are better than play while you don’t. I cant stay and not play. It’s hindering my opportunities.

“I really want to move. I want to go somewhere that I will play and be happy. A place where the coach will have trust and belief in me. I don’t think staying there will help me. In three years of my career, I haven’t seen any changes. I really want to move.”

We move the conversation from the paining subject of lack of play to something which brings smiles to his face. His short foray into the Euorpean competition.

“I played in the Europa League. I played in three of these games and it was an exciting experience. At home against the Estonian club, away and then home against Anatosis (Cyprus).”

He hails from the Frafra tribe in Ghana, a tall young man. His height, a trait peculiar to his people. This one is lanky. His physique helps him in his play, even though he confesses that he has been advised to add on a few more pounds of flesh. He describes the kind of player he is.

“I’m a central midfielder, a box-to-box midfielder, I can play in the offensive or defensive role. In Gefle, the coach has used me as a supporting striker. I can play on the left or right flanks. Basically, I’m a versatile midfielder who loves to play.”

Having had a torrid two plus years with his current club, Adukor has already declared his intention to gain more play time. He also has some goals he seeks to achieve before his career is over. “Right now, I want to start something new. My long-term goal is to play for the national team and play in a club that can give me Champions League play and also win trophies.”

What does he do for fun? “I don’t enjouy going out too much. Because I am not really the type to go out and the Swedish people really like to talk [laughs]. After training, I just get home, get on the internet to know what’s going on, and then talk to family. I also play FIFA sometimes with my brother. But that is basically my routine.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 6, 2014 in Football, One-on-One

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment